First visit to the Drs

I went to see the Dr and was expecting her to tell me that it was a normal lump that would disappear in a few days or weeks and not to worry.

As soon as she felt it, I think her words were something along the lines of “Ooh yes, there is definitely something there isn’t there”. Hearing that was almost a relief but at the same time, a sense of dread swept over me. Relief for knowing it wasn’t my imagination, then dread knowing it was there and it wasn’t going away.

The Dr told me that she was going to refer me to the Breast clinic in Cheltenham, that I would get an ultra sound and mammogram and possibly a form of biopsy. I don’t quite know much about going home from there, it was a bit of a blur to be honest, but I did ring my sister and mum and told them what had been going on. My dad was away on holiday so I had to wait a few days for him to come home.

Having told my immediate family it did feel a lot easier and I think they understood while I had been a little subdued recently.

A few days later I found out that my breast clinic appointment was in a fortnights time and would be on the 7th August.

Leave a Reply

