Wigtastic

Well I’m now well into my second week after treatment and this week is my most vulnerable apparently as my white blood cells will be at their lowest so I’m at most risk of catching an infection so am supposed to avoid people with coughs and colds etc. hmmmm that’s hard when you have hospital appointments and funerals to go to!

Well after a rough few days this week the last few days have been easier. Friday last week and the weekend felt good, I was relieved to feel ok then as it made me think its just 4 days of feeling like its hit me and the rest I can cope with.

I have started noticing little side effects such as:

Sore Mouth – It feels like I’ve burnt the roof of my mouth, I have that rough sensation on the top of my mouth and it has spread around my mouth. Where my wisdom teeth poke through a bit at the back have got quite sore too. A good mouth wash (alcohol free) helps with this.

Not sleeping – I have found it hard to sleep on a few occasions, my body felt like it was on fire, I was so hot and twitchy that I was up and down like a yo yo for three nights on the trot. My mind would race and my imagination was running wild. I found if I watched tv before bed my imagination would carry on the film in my head, not always in a nice way lol. My imagination is frickin wierd šŸ™‚

My arm where the chemo went in has been really sore since Friday, it feels like the vein in my arm is really sore and hurts if I lean on my arm. I remember the nurse saying one of the drugs is really harsh on the veins so guess its that. I guess that poor vein/artery is in for a real bashing! šŸ˜¦

Hair – well it’s still there, but it’s changing. It’s prickly and feels like I’ve used a strong shampoo that makes your scalp tingle. It’s not behaving and won’t style as I’m used to and feels flat.

I feel like I have a cold but am not sure if I actually have a cold or it’s the side effects as I know I was warned it made you feel like you had the flu/bad cold. Time will tell I guess šŸ™‚

Well that’s it on side effects that I can think of, they’re not too bad, I can cope with these. šŸ™‚

Yesterday I went for a wig fitting and after being undecided about having one or not I did end up buying one. It’s very realistic and I couldn’t get one to match my usual style as my hairstyle is too short but this one is close enough šŸ™‚ I’ll add a photo in a bit as the one I took yesterday wasn’t very good šŸ™‚

Well that’s all folks! Have a nice day! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

